Classification of lubricants

The classification of the lubricants is they are classified on basis of their physical state as-

  1. Solid lubricants

E.g.: Teflon, talc, graphite, molybdenum dissuade

  1. Semi-solid lubricants

E.g.: greases, wax, Vaseline

  1. Liquid lubricants

These are further classified on basis of their origin as
Vegetable oil – these are obtained from plants.
E.g.: olive oil, palm oil, castor oil, cottonseed oil etc
Animal oil – these are obtained from animals like fishes etc
E.g.: fish oils, tallow, lard
Mineral oil – these are obtained from petroleum oils containing mostly of hydrocarbons
E.g.: paraffin base oils and naphthalene base oils
Blended oil– these are mineral oils mixed with vegetable or animal oils in various additives to improve its lubricating property.
Synthetic oils these are designed to serve a specific purpose.
E.g.: silicones, dibasic acid esters, organic phosphate esters, halogenated hydrocarbons poly alkylene glycols and their derivatives.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.